Halton Hills

Georgetown is a community in the town of Halton Hills, Ontario, Canada and is part of the Regional Municipality of Halton. The town includes several small villages or settlements such as Norval, Limehouse, Stewarttown and Glen Williams near Georgetown as well as another large population centre, Acton, Ontario.[1] In 2016, the population of Georgetown was 42,123. It is situated on the Credit River, located approximately 60 km west of Toronto, making it part of the Greater Toronto Area. Georgetown was named after entrepreneur George Kennedy who settled in the area in 1821 and built several mills and other businesses.


Georgetown grew as new neighbourhoods were added. The oldest section is around Main Street and Church Street. The arrival of the railway produced a new section — around King Street and Queen Street. The Delrex subdivision was the third part of the town that was added. Shortly after Delrex, Moore Park was developed. In 1989, the Georgetown South development began and the town has grown considerably since that point.

Delrex: In the 1950s, Rex Heslop, the builder of Rexdale in Toronto, built the Delrex subdivision. Delrex is a combination of Rex and his wife Delma's names. In the 1950s and 1960s this area was referred to as Georgetown East.

Moore Park: With the growth of Delrex subdivision, a second subdivision called Moore Park appeared in 1962.

Trafalgar Country: Added much later in the mid 1990s and early 2000s, Trafalgar country is mostly bungalows and two-story homes, and sits at the westernmost point in Georgetown.

Georgetown South: In 1989 the farm land south of Silver Creek became the newest subdivision of Georgetown, Georgetown South. The development was undertaken by primarily Fernbrook Homes (West of Mountainview) and Canada Homes (East of Mountainview). Additional developments include Arbour Glen, Stewart's Mills and the Four Corners. Not to be mistaken as the "Four Corners" of Hornby at Trafalgar Road and Steeles Avenue.


Public education in Georgetown is managed by the Halton District School Board, while Catholic education is managed by the Halton Catholic District School Board.

Elementary Schools


  • Holy Cross (with French Immersion)
  • St. Brigid
  • St. Francis of Assisi
  • St. Catherine of Alexandria


  • Halton Hills Christian School (a.k.a. Georgetown District Christian School)


  • Sacré-Coeur


  • Gardiner Public School
  • Silver Creek Public School
  • Pineview Public School
  • Park Public School
  • Joseph Gibbons Public School
  • Harrison Public School
  • George Kennedy Public School (with French Immersion)
  • Glen Williams Public School

Middle Schools


  • Centennial Public School
  • Stewarttown Middle School
  • Silver Creek Public School
  • Gardiner Public School

Secondary Schools